First HTML project on The Odin Project

It's been a little while since my last blog post. I've been learning mainly from The Odin Project (TOP). What I love about it, is that it taught me about Git, GitHub, and how to have my own setup for development, which FreeCodeCamp didn't really do but I what I loved about FreeCodeCamp is that I jumped right into doing web pages from the start. I think the combination of the two is a good way to go but, I would start with The Odin Project, and then when I'm about this stage that is creating a website, I would start FreeCodeCamp's (New) Responsive Web Design.

I would like to talk a little about Git, and what I've learned so far. Well Git, is basically a great save button that allows you to save different stages of your work, describe the stage, and also go back (if needed) to that stage. Its history is pretty interesting, and I can definitely see its value. A really good resource that contains some rules for commits that I love and I wish to keep for the future so I can reread it is: cbea.ms/git-commit. For my commits to this first project, I tried to follow the advice and guidelines in that article. I also like the workflow that TOP proposes for git. 1) Create a file 2) Type git status 3)Verify files not staged 4)Type git add 'file' 5)Type git status 6)Verify files to be staged 7)Type git commit -m "message" (Here in this step we use the guidelines from the article) 8)Repeat steps 1) to 7) if creating another file or saving a section of code 9)If finished type git push if it is the only branch.

What I didn't like about how TOP talks about Git, is that they teach to create (so far) repos from GitHub and then clone them to your computer. I would prefer to create the repos on my computer and then upload them to GitHub. But I don't think it is that important. Also, this section on HTML was simpler and easier than FreeCodeCamp's but it was more thorough.

Finally, with this comes the good news. I can now share the things I'm working on, instead of just talking about them like before. Here is the link for the website I'm developing for the first project in TOP. github.com/AdrianGutierrezGomez/odin-recipes